Comparison is the thief of happiness

050315 comparison is the thief of joy

click for image source

I feel like as a blogger it is so easy to get wrapped up in stats and comparing ourselves to everyone else. I am totally guilty of it. I have fellow blogger friends that have been blogging half as long as I have been and have twice as many followers or more. It makes me wonder what I am doing wrong. If I am missing something.

But then I had a wake up call at Texas Style Council in March. Something they kept drilling into us was the idea of sisterhood and supporting each other. We shouldn’t compare ourselves to others. We all have unique voices and I realized that I don’t need a million followers (not to say you should stop following or telling people about Cutie Cameras. Please keep doing that!).

What I mean is that if it makes me happy then it doesn’t matter. All that truly matters is what brings me joy. I LOVE blogging and I LOVE connecting with all of you. I have made so many amazing friends through this little blog and while I may not be a super successful money-making blogger it has made me a richer person. I have learned a lot about myself through writing as frequently as I do.

This may surprise you but when I was younger I hated writing. I despised it. I was self-conscious of my own abilities and worried that if I tried I wouldn’t be good at it. I worried that everyone would make fun of me. It wasn’t until college that I began developing my own voice. I learned that, while I still don’t like writing about topics I am not interested in, I love writing about my passions. I enjoy telling stories and sharing my thoughts.

The fact that you all read my blog makes me feel so very special and loved. The community I’ve found through Cutie Cameras has really helped me become a happier, more fulfilled person.

So stop comparing yourself to everyone else. You aren’t them. You are you! You are perfect the way you are.

pink signature

17 thoughts on “Comparison is the thief of happiness

  1. You are such an incredible blogger AND person! I am so glad you continue to write because I love what you have to say! An. I love your adorable outfits! Your voice makes a different in this crazy internet world!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the act of comparing as a blogger is very indicative of how women are taught by society to compare ourselves in general. It’s 50 shades of fucked up that self-worth politics in this world are dictated as having a top and bottom- based on physical appearance, abilities, accolades, and a whole bunch of things that are out of our control as well- race/class/etc. I’ve been reading Junot Diaz all day and this quote of his really stuck out, “A writer is a writer not because she writes well and easily, because she has amazing talent, or because everything she does is golden. A writer is a writer because, even when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you keep writing anyway.”

    You are an amazing woman and wonderful blogger. I love connecting with you and admire your heart. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenny I couldn’t agree with you more. We are trained to compare ourselves and put down others to make ourselves feel better. It is an entirely messed up system. Instead of comparing ourselves and looking at each other as competition we should encourage and celebrate one another.
      Thank you for sharing that beautiful quote. I think I needed to hear it.
      Also, thank you for your sweet words. It has been wonderful getting to know you. I love how passionate you are and can’t wait to get to know you even better. ❀

      Like

  3. Amen! I’ve slowly learnt to stop comparing myself in all aspects; blogging, body, work etc. Once I stopped I was able to really appreciate everything a hell of a lot more, including my own writing.
    I’ve always thought I was a terrible writer and only recently have I started to like it, I’m talking less than a year. Little steps hey? ❀️❀️❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too!! I know it can become very toxic. I am always working on learning to appreciate who I am as an individual and loving what is already super awesome in my life. It can be challenging but very rewarding. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I need to print this off and frame it! I am always having to remind myself to not compare myself to others and especially when it comes to blogging. I want to be making more money, I LOVE blogging, but my family comes first and everyones family has different needs. As long as we put those first that is all we can do and should be proud of it! Thanks for the uplift this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree! Not comparing myself is still a challenge but I feel like I am getting better at it. Every time I start to think I’m not succeeding I read all of the awesome comments I’ve received and it makes me feel better πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave some love!

