Nothing To Cover Up

In high school I didn’t wear too much makeup. It just seemed like a lot of work. When I went off to college I wore it even less. It wasn’t until senior year until I began wearing it on a regular basis. See, I had gained weight and wasn’t feeling as confident as I once did.

The 15-20lb weight gain had me questioning myself. I didn’t feel pretty without mascara. I felt like my usual self wasn’t good enough unless it was caked with makeup. I began wearing eyeliner and mascara everyday. It became my security blanket. I knew that as long as I had my trusty eyeliner pen and mascara tube I could do anything.

I can’t remember the specific day but I do remember the feeling. That realization that I didn’t feel pretty without makeup. That I didn’t feel confident without my blanket. I was telling friends that they were beautiful no matter what but when I looked at myself in the mirror I couldn’t tell the same to myself.

That was when I decided to stop wearing makeup everyday. I decided that I needed to learn to love myself, regardless of my size. If giving up makeup was my way to self-confidence then I was taking that leap.

no makeup and makeup

So I stopped. At first people told me I looked tired. That hurt. But I kept doing it. I knew that I wasn’t doing it for their approval. I was doing it for myself.

It is because of this change that I now feel more confident and don’t have to spend as much time getting ready in the morning, which is an added bonus. As you can probably tell, I do still wear makeup from time to time and for special occasions. It is okay for me to want to fancy it up when I feel like it; I just didn’t want to become reliant. I only want to rely on myself to feel beautiful.

pink signature

12 thoughts on “Nothing To Cover Up

  1. You’re beautiful with our without makeup. For me, wearing make up does not have much to do with how i view myself. I simply love makeup- it’s an art and I enjoy it. That being said, when I’m not wearing it, people wonder if I’m sick as well hahaha. For work I never, ever, go without it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thank you!! I love to play with makeup too! I just got to a point where I wasn’t putting on for fun but because I felt like I had to. Like I wasn’t cute without it. I am so glad I am getting more and more comfortable without it because I feel that excitement when I do wear it now.

      Like

    • Aw thanks honey! I have rosacea so i wear tinted moisturizer everyday to tone that down. I typically only wear makeup on weekends (when I have plans) and for special occasions. It works pretty well for me πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave some love!

