Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. and those involved in the Civil Rights movement

MLKOn this Martin Luther King Jr. Day I reflect on my visit to the National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, TN. Other than meeting Fletch’s family it was by far the highlight of my visit. It was a very emotional experience. I sat on a bus where I was yelled at and told to move to the back. I saw photos of the brave people that protested the injustice that was occurring in our country. I saw the very counter where individuals sat in protest against segregation. I walked past the window where Martin Luther King, Jr. was killed. Just thinking back to the experience brings tears to my eyes.

I am so grateful to those who came before me. Those brave and courageous people that fought for what was right: equality. Today I reflect on their sacrifices and the work that we still have to do to gain true equality.

To Martin Luther King Jr. and all who have been involved in the civil rights movement, I salute you and thank you for your sacrifices.

pink signature

 

4 thoughts on “Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. and those involved in the Civil Rights movement

  1. I absolutely love Martin Luther King Jr’s words – he was so eloquent and inspiring. Also, I know how you felt. I went to the National Freedom Center in Ohio this summer and it was very emotional. What I especially loved about it was that it showed the injustices done to every race, but highlighted the good people of each race as well. Sometimes I think they make all whites look evil and it is nice to see stories of the white people who fought against slavery and segregation – that way you don’t have to feel ashamed of your own skin. You know? Basically, I just think it is good to show the love on both sides.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree that it is important to recognize all that stood up against the injustice occurring in our country and see all sides of the situation but we also need to understand our history. Unfortunately we are a country of slavery that treated a large group of people as property and also, out of fear, put another group of people into internment camps. If we understand and recognize our past then we can learn from our mistakes and all work together towards a brighter, truly equal future. That is one of the reasons I loved visiting the National Civil Rights Museum. It was so inspiring to see so many people come together to spark change.

      Excellent insight hon!!! I would love to visit the National Freedom Center. It sounds absolutely wonderful.

      Like

Leave some love!

