My superstar dreams

I was a ham when I was younger. I dreamed of being on stage and entertaining hundreds of people with my singing.

being a ham

Me being a ham

I remember going camping with the family and taking my little cassette and mic set to sing with. I would perform Michael Jackson around the campfire for my family. I knew I was destined for the stage. That is, until I realized I wasn’t the most amazing singer in the world. Trust me, it was a shock.

I took singing lessons and performed but once I hit middle school I think I realized I wasn’t the superstar I thought I was. I never won the competitions I entered and I was never given a solo in choir.

singing

Getting my sing on.

I am not telling you this story to make you feel bad. I think learning I wasn’t the best singer taught me that I can still love something and not feel like I have to be the best. I can be very competitive, one of the reasons I avoid sports, and understanding that I can just like something regardless of my skill level was a very valuable lesson.

I still sing ALL of the time and have a lot of fun with it. I LOVE singing and I LOVE dancing. It makes me happy. Knowing I may not be amazing makes it easier to sing in public too. I play up my strengths. I dance silly and make it fun. I let loose.

So while I may not be living out my childhood dream I still feel like I am entertaining people with my words. This blog has become an outlet for me to express myself and hopefully you enjoy it.

Now your turn. What was your childhood dream?

pink signature

14 thoughts on “My superstar dreams

  1. I had the same aspirations and wanted to be a famous actor – even when to Uni to study – came out the other side knowing that I was a better audience member than a performer LOL! Oh well it’s still taught me many valuable skills and lessons and I feel like this blog is my creative outlet too. 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was singing and acting and have been in musicals. Even produced my own cover album and was in a band for a long time. I just couldn’t seem to get to that point where I would have enough (or to be honest much at all) money to keep it as my full time job. Then I realised how much I love libraries and I kind of let singing go… Man that hurt!!!
    Quite a few years later I have a dedicated fan base… my nieces and nephews. My nieces demand I sing them “Let it Go”, “Ugly heart”, “All about that base”, “Twinkle, twinkle little star” and my littlest niece loves to fall asleep in my arms while I sing a slow version of Titanium 🙂 Plus there are always Karaoke comps that come up, there’s some nice pocket money to be made there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is wonderful that you can share your love for singing with your nieces and nephews! I am glad you have found a way to continue singing while also pursuing your love for libraries. That is pretty neat!

      Like

  3. Love this! Such a good post – absolutely spot on 😉

    When I was little all I wanted to be was a mother and a world explorer (I loved/still love traveling with my mother).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave some love!

