My dad’s Superman ring

My parents collect antiques. They love old things and influenced me to get into antique hunting. I remember when I was younger taking trips to the antique stores with my parents and being so confused. Why would people want old stuff?

As I’ve aged I’ve grown to understand the nostalgia of old pieces. For me, I love the idea of someone else completely loving something and now having the opportunity to also love it.

That leads to me to this week’s favorite thing. My father’s Superman ring. It isn’t worth a ton (around $40 on Ebay) and is in pretty darn good condition. It is an adjustable ring from the 70s that you received after turning in cereal box tops.

Superman Ring

My father bought the ring off of Ebay because it reminded him of his childhood. When he was younger he enjoyed Superman and he couldn’t pass up such a cool piece.

I always had my eye on that ring. I thought it was the coolest thing. When I left for school my dad decided to give it to me. He knew how much I loved it and he wanted it to bring me happiness.

It sits on my dresser and reminds me not only of my fathers love but of our common interest in things that some have forgotten. When I put the ring on I feel connected to both of my parents.

This simple, yet awesome, little ring brings me so much joy. I hope one day I will be able to pass it on to some other deserving kid who will enjoy and appreciate it as much as I do now.

Do you have a piece of jewelry that is special to you?

pink signature

5 thoughts on “My dad’s Superman ring

Leave some love!

