My first journey to IKEA

I have never been to IKEA. I grew up in Alaska and as you can imagine, we don’t have much in terms of shopping. When we got Target people FLIPPED.

So, coming to the lower 48 (as we call it in Alaska) was exciting not only for the limitless road trip options but also for the AMAZING shopping. Forever 21 had no idea what was coming.

I digress. I’ve now lived in Washington for 7 years and have yet to go to IKEA. I never had anyone that wanted to go and I was not about to brave it alone. So I patiently waited for a friend that would make the treck to IKEA with me.

Enter Amanda.

Amanda and I have been friends for a long time now and I guess the conversation of IKEA never really came up. I recently went over to her apartment and she was showing me all of her IKEA furniture. I was in awe. I told her I wanted to go really bad but didn’t have a companion to go with.

She jumped at the opportunity and that is how we got here. To the day of my first trip to IKEA. I am nervous. I am anxious. I hope I don’t spend too much money but I am PUMPED!

AFTER IKEA UPDATE:

Well, I had a great time!! It was a bit crowded but other than that I really enjoyed seeing all of the room layouts. If I could afford all of the stuff I would re-decorate my entire apartment!

Amanda and I set out on our adventure and I documented most of the highlights. Here is our drive there.

Driving to IKEA

I see the big “IKEA” sign and  get excited!

We have arrived!

Next is our shopping. I pretty much want everything.

Posing

I couldn’t get over all of the cute stuff!! Like PILLOWS!! It was pillow heaven.

Getting our shop on

I even tried the meatballs that everyone raved about (just between you and I.. they weren’t all that great).

meatballs!

So, what is my final opinion? LOVED IT! I mean.. look at that excitement!

Finished and feeling great

It was definitely an experience and I would love to go back at some point. I could see it being really nice when you first go off to college or when you buy your first home.

I am so glad Amanda went with me and I had a really great time. Thanks, Amanda!!!

What are your feelings on IKEA?

pink signature

10 thoughts on “My first journey to IKEA

  1. IKEA is the evil place that gets way too much of my money! I try never to go there because I always leave broke. That being said as I DIY’er it is a paradise. All those simplistic designs just waiting to be embellished…. Glad you had fun. Try going at off peak times to avoid the crowds. IKEA on a Saturday is a huge no go for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg, you are the cutest, Hilary!! I’m so happy you finally made it to an Ikea and had a great time. If I lived anywhere remote to you, I would have taken you with me!! hehe. Didn’t you love the food and all the great home inspiration??!! I’m not going to lie but when I first went to an Ikea, I had a mild panic attack when we were in the middle of the store and I couldn’t see any exits or other ways out besides the floor map. Plus there were tons of people, almost like Disney World crowded…Eeek! lol. I’m glad you had a great time and I hope you go back on a day when it’s not too crowded!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anytime I head out to Ikea, rest assured I book my entire day there! It’s definitely not a pit stop kind of store for me—I take my time looking at EVERYTHING! Glad you finally made your visit there:)))

    Like

Leave some love!

