Self Love

Hello you beautiful thing you!

Learning to love yourself is a hard and difficult journey. It takes time, practice, and you have to work on it daily.

Fall in love with yourself

I’ve had a really difficult time learning to love myself and there are still days where I look at myself and think about all of my imperfections. I focus on the little features that aren’t perfect and I allow my self-hate to determine how my mood is that day. It pretty much sucks! I recently read a blog post about becoming a happier person. The blogger challenged herself to not say anything negative about others or about herself. She said that it was more difficult to break the habit of self shaming than it was to talk about others. ( I apologize. I can’t remember where I read the post!)

It was enlightening. Why is it easy to lift others up while continuing to put ourselves down? I am guilty of it! I compliment friends and co-workers, tell them that they are beautiful and that they shouldn’t be too hard on themselves then I get home and cry about my weight or hair or whatever.

It has been a hard journey towards self love for me but I am getting better at it. I look at my reflection in the mirror and instead of pointing out my faults I tell myself about my great qualities. I dress myself up in clothes that make me feel good. I continuously tell myself that I am beautiful and that I have worth.

I feel more confident now than I ever did when I was 50 pounds lighter. In middle school I was teased for my weight so I set out to get skinny. I stopped eating sweets and ran a mile everyday. It was hard work but I got down to 105 pounds. Even though I was thin I still didn’t feel like it was enough. I needed a flatter stomach. I needed thinner thighs. I look at photos of me then and think about how small I was. I was thin but still felt like I wasn’t good enough.

Me at my lowest weight

Me at my lowest weight

So I stopped trying to make others happy with my body (because that is just silly) and instead focused on what made me happy. I decided that my worth was not determined by my weight. I’ve gained weight over the years but found a new sense of appreciation for my body. It does so much for me and allows me to have adventures. Why wouldn’t I love it?

I want you to know that you are worthwhile. You are wonderful and fun and special. Try to help yourself remember that. If we can learn to stop shaming ourselves and others then maybe we can promote a healthier body image for those young people that come after us.

Stay strong beautiful.

pink signature

5 thoughts on “Self Love

Leave some love!

