Time Traveling Tuesday: Car dancing and singing WAY too loudly

There are many moments that define a relationship. This, for me, was one of them. My best friend, Nicole, and I were off to Bellingham for Halloween weekend.

Halloween

She had friends that were attending school there and I had just broken up with my boyfriend and needed a freeing weekend. The drive there was long but we got through it by singing loudly and what we call car dancing.

At the time Nicole and I were already best friends but this was one of those, “this is why we are friends”, moments.  My iPod was on shuffle and, “No Air” by Jordin Sparks ft. Chris Brown came on. (First I want to say that I do NOT like Chris Brown. This was before the incident with Rhianna and I was oblivious to his jerky-ness.) Without discussing anything I started singing the Jordin Sparks part. Then Nicole came in on the Chris Brown portion. We were clutching the air, really getting into the song. There were lots of big hand motions and cringing, emotional, faces made. We took on the personas of each singer and just went for it.

There aren’t too many people that would do that with me. Most just look at my and awkwardly smile. They maybe say, “oh Hilary”. But not Nicole. Nicole was in it to win it with me. It is just one of the many reasons I love her. She has always been an amazing friend.

friends don't let friends

There are moments that happen in our lives that define who we are. This seemingly small interaction helped shape who I would be the rest of college. The love and support of Nicole has helped make me into the person I am today. She never ceases to amaze me with all of the wonderful things she does. She has been away for a while now following her passions and I am so proud to call her a friend. She threw caution to the wind so that she could pursue her dreams. I miss her dearly but I know that she is doing what she really wants to do in life and that brings me great joy.

Do you have a friend that has made a huge impact on your life? Maybe you should take a quick moment to go thank them. Everyone needs to know that they are loved and cared about and maybe right now they need to be reminded.

Signature

 

Leave some love!

