Time Traveling Tuesday: Dancing in Scotland

While studying abroad the group I was traveling with took us on a trip to Edinburgh, Scotland. It was a bit chilly but absolutely amazing. We went on a ghost tour, visited the Elephant Cafe (where JK Rowling wrote Harry Potter), and so much more. I will say that one of my favorite memories from that trip is going to a dance club with some locals we met in a pub.

scotish boys

The girls I was traveling with and I decided to hang out at the hostel pub and have a few drinks. We were enjoying a few drinks when some guys came up to us and offered to buy us drinks. They bought us all buckets and a weird drink I had never heard of. It was pretty gross but if you drank it quickly it wasn’t too bad.

pub

drinks

So here we are, sitting in the hostel pub, drinking with some guys that happened to be younger then us, when they recommend we check out a dance club with them. They told us that it was really popular and of course said it would be a good time. So, we went. The absolute best part was when a song came on that connected me with every other Scottish youth in the club. It was a song by the wonderful, S Club 7.

My fellow travelers didn’t recognize the song at all but as soon as I heard the first few notes I knew what it was.

There I was in the middle of a Scottish dance club singing along to S Club 7 ‘s “Reach” while shooting my arms in the air during the chorus and kicking my feet up.

It was wonderful! Dancing to that song made me feel like I belonged. It made me feel like I fit in. That moment made me love traveling. Traveling allows you to connect with different people from all over the world. You just have to reach.

Signature

Leave some love!

