Time Traveling Tuesday: The first “I love you”

Fletch and Hil

Fletch and I had been dating for three months when I first said it. That HUGE moment in a relationship. I still remember exactly how nervous I was.

I was in the administrative building on campus with a project group waiting to meet our professor to discuss the status of our project. I had called Fletch to update him on my whereabouts. We were chatting, mostly me talking because I talk a lot, when I said, “Alright I will see you soon. Love you bye.”

I hung up and froze. OH MY GOD! I just said, “I love you,” and we have only been dating for three months! I am going to scare him away! All of these thoughts went through my mind. I was freaking out. My friends stared at me and one asked, “was that the first time?” I shook my head yes.

Our professor came out to get us and she could tell there was something wrong with me. She asked if I was alright which was a bad idea. I then started telling her about my phone call with Fletch, about slipping the “l” word, and how I was terrified he was going to freak out. She told me this wasn’t the time or place and I looked down in shame.

I immediately went to talk with Fletch about the incident. He said that if I meant it then I have nothing to be sorry about. I was shaking as I said, “I did mean it.” Fletch smiled, holding my hand, and said, “good.”

He told me that he felt the same way. I was so happy. That moment was perfect. I was so incredibly happy.

It has been four years and I still feel those butterflies fluttering around in my tummy every time we kiss. Fletch is my best friend and he accepts every bit of me. If I accidentally toot he just looks at me and smiles as I hang my head in shame. When I say something stupid he laughs and says, “I love the way you speak sometimes.”

I am so very lucky to have such a wonderful person in my life.

Zombies

Signature

 

15 thoughts on “Time Traveling Tuesday: The first “I love you”

  1. I said it first with my Husby, again it was an accident. My body betrayed me when I was at my most vulnerable… asleep. Apparently he woke up one morning and spooned up to me and when he put his arm around me I kind of cuddled his hand and said, “I love you”. He thought I was awake and was in a bit of shock, but then realised I wasn’t, he teased me about the fact I was talking in my sleep later that day and eventually told me what I said. Luckily he felt the same way, we have been together for seven years and married for almost three πŸ™‚ Best friends make awesome Husbands πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave some love!

