Time Traveling Tuesday: My First Conference Ever

My passion for radio began in college. The fates were aligned when I began volunteering as a DJ at the student station my first year at school. It made me so happy and I loved every aspect of radio. That is why I moved up the ranks into the position of General Manager my Sophomore year.  I enjoyed preparing for my show, I enjoyed speaking over the air, I loved interacting with the other DJs, and I couldn’t get enough of playing music at events around campus. It felt like my calling. The only problem is that radio is a difficult business to get into. Competition is steep and it doesn’t pay too well unless your show gets SUPER popular. But I loved it and I kept at it.

One of my radio highlights would have to be traveling to Philadelphia with our Promotions Director, Kirsty for a radio conference. We spent three days attending discussions, looking at equipment, getting free goodies, and we did some sight seeing. It was seriously amazing!

Edgar Allen Poe

liberty bell

The absolute best part of the trip was when Kirsty, being unable to see due to pink eye, called a man a lady. We were at a very fancy lunch where everyone was split up by tables and the idea was to mingle. So, Kirsty, being the outgoing person she is, starts chatting to the people next to us. She said, “where are you ladies from?” At that point I started laughing uncontrollably. This is not my most professional moment but I just couldn’t help it.  Kirsty didn’t understand why I was laughing. She leaned in close and asked, “what is so funny, Hilary?” I didn’t know what to say so I just said, “oh sorry I just noticed something funny.” It wasn’t until we were leaving that I told Kirsty she had accidentally identified a man as a lady.

She felt awful but I will forever cherish that memory. She was so sweet and truly didn’t understand that she made a mistake.

Do you have any “oops” moments that you look back on now and laugh about? Why not share them?! I would love to hear about it.

P.S. Here is a video diary of our trip. It was amazing!

signature

2 thoughts on “Time Traveling Tuesday: My First Conference Ever

Leave some love!

