Photography Tips

Hello Lovelies!

I am no photography expert but I do know what works for me. Here are a few tips that I’ve found helpful and I hope help you!

me and my camera

  1. You should always use your manual settings. Do NOT allow yourself to get used to the automatic settings. Just trust me.
  2. Practice. Practice. Practice. Take photos of everything so you can find what truly inspires you.
  3. Bring your camera with you everywhere. I know you may be hesitant because you spent a ton of money on your new DSLR but when you bring your camera with you then you have the ability to capture every moment and continue to practice.
  4. When taking portrait photos I enjoy using textured backgrounds. Try an interesting garage door or brick wall.
  5. If taking photos of products I recommend using a white background. Try using something like this to get a nice, crisp background to really allow your products to pop. If you don’t want to drop the cash for that little product try making your own.
  6. Take a ton of photos! That way you know you truly captured the moment and snagged some good photos. You can’t rely on editing for good photography. Editing should be used to enhance your already stellar photos, not to make them amazing.
  7. Try taking photos from down low and up high. Using different points of view will create a more visually interesting photo. Some of my favorite photos are shot from the ground.
  8. Lastly, don’t be afraid to test out different things! I love hunting around for new tips and tricks online to get different effects. You will never know if you like something until you try it!

These are just a few tips that, hopefully, will help you improve!

Here is a handy little settings cheat sheet I made to help you master those manual settings. Print it out and keep it with you for reference.

Photography Cheat Sheet

Here is a printable version: Photography Cheat Sheet

Lastly, here are a few of my favorite photography related sites. Maybe you will find something you like or need.
Photojojo
Four Corner Store
Lomography
B & H Photo

I hope these tips help! If you have any questions please feel free to comment or email me! I also regularly pin photography tips on my Pinterest account so make sure you check it out!

signature

Leave some love!

