Vintage Camera Wish List

Hello Lovelies,

I have a pretty excessive vintage camera collection but there are still a few cameras out there that have evaded me. I thought it would be fun to put together a list of all of the cameras I hope to one day add to my little family of cameras.

Here are the cameras I hope to one day own.

Argus C3

Argus C3

Argus C3

The Argus C3 is a 35mm camera originally made by Argus from 1939 – 1957. I love the look of this camera. I’ve found it sold anywhere from $3 – $100, depending on condition and knowledge of the owner. I think it would be an amazing edition to my collection. I’ve tried to purchase one twice from two different sellers on Ebay but have had issues so I am still waiting for one to add to my collection.

Argus Lady Carefree Elite

Argus Lady Carefree Elite

Argus Lady Carefree Elite

The Argus Lady Carefree Elite was produced in the 60s but I can’t find much more information on it.

Beacon Two-twenty Five

Beacon two-twenty five

Beacon two-twenty five

This wonderful little camera was made from 1950 – 1958 by Whitehouse Products Inc. I found one on Ebay and they were asked $299.95 which is a lot more than I can afford to spend.

Cmeha Smena

Cmeha Smena

Cmeha Smena

This little beaut is a 35mm camera made in the 1970s in Soviet Union. They are relatively inexpensive but most I have found on the internet come from outside the country.

Coronet Midget

Coronet Midget Camera

Coronet Midget Camera

This tiny little camera took 16mm film and was made from 1934 – 1943 in Birmingham, England. They were a giveaway in a breakfast cereal. I wish I found one of these in my cereal!

Imperial Mark XII Flash in pink

Imperial Mark XII Flash

Imperial Mark XII Flash

The Imperial camera was made in a ton of different colors and I would love to get the pink version. It takes 620 film and was made in the 1950s.

Kodak Flashfun Hawkeye

Kodak Flashfun Hawkeye

Kodak Flashfun Hawkeye

The Kodak Flashfun Hawkeye was made between 1961 – 1967. It took 127 film and costs about $15 today. They came in a few different colors and I would love to get one in red or green.

Kodak Petite in blue

Kodak Petite

Kodak Petite

This camera is beautiful! It was made from 1928 – 1933 by Kodak and originally cost $30.

Kodak Rainbow Hawkeye Vest Pocket in pink and purple

Kodak Petite Rainbow Hawkeye

Kodak Petite Rainbow Hawkeye

This is similar to the Kodak Petite with the exception of the color. I can’t find too much information on this camera so I hope that one day I will be able to find one for myself.

Leica

Leica

Leica

One day I hope to own my very own Leica camera. The company was originally started in 1849 by Ernst Leitz. The company has created a strong brand and even today they make new cameras. They are very pricey so this will be a purchase I will have to save for.

Imperial Official Girl Scout Camera

Official Girl Scout Imperial

Official Girl Scout Imperial

This is basically the same camera as the Imperial Mark XII Flash but with a different face plate. I love the Girl Scout history behind this piece. I’ve seen their price today range from $15 – $50.

Polaroid SX-70

Polaroid Sx-70

Polaroid Sx-70

This is by far one of my favorite Polaroid cameras. It was made from 1972 – 1981 by Polaroid. Thanks to the Impossible Project you can now buy film for this camera!

Rolleiflex

Rolleiflex

Rolleiflex

Rolleiflex cameras were made for professional photographers. The different models used a range of different film formats like 117, 120, and 127. They are beautiful cameras and today you can expect to pay anywhere from $150 – $2,000. I will definitely need to save up if I ever want to welcome one of these bad boys into the family.

For one reason or another I haven’t been able to add these cameras to my collection. The most common reason is that I can’t afford to buy it. I try to keep my purchases under $20. That makes the fancier cameras a bit more difficult to find in my price range. I hope to one day have a designated area with cabinets and shelves to display my collection. Right now they live on a bookshelf I bought to house them. It works but I am quickly running out of space.

I hope you enjoyed my little vintage camera wish list.

pink signature

10 thoughts on “Vintage Camera Wish List

  1. What a gorgeous collection of vintage cameras! I used to collect old cameras and had a nice collection going but I wound up selling most of my collection to finance more film! Unfortunately the film formats for most of these cameras is no longer available, so the cameras wind up sitting on a shelf. There are modern camera companies like Lomography that make 35mm and 120 medium format cameras that are cute and charming, I have and still use the La Sardina and Sprocket Rocket cameras, they’re both fun cameras that take 35mm film. If you’re looking for some of these old cameras I find that Etsy.com is a great place, as well as ebay. Ebay can be really hit or miss, you just have to keep checking up on it. I recently found a Yashica MG-1 for $1.25 on ebay! Perfect condition! Also, Goodwill has an online auction site like ebay that sometimes gets some nice vintage cameras!

    Like

    • I have a pretty extensive collection but I can’t seem to find these beauties in a price range that I feel comfortable with! I’ve tried a few times to purchase Argus cameras from Ebay and the two times I did I had bag luck with the sellers. One seller sent me the camera in an un-padded envelope. That poor camera! It was broken when I got it so I returned it. I love shopping on Lomography and I’ve found some fun stuff from Four Corner Store too. I also tend to find cameras at Goodwill and at antique stores. You got a great deal on your Yashica! The difficulty with vintage cameras, as you said, is finding film. I found a store in Portland, OR called Blue Moon Cameras and Machine that sells adapted 120 that fits into 620 format cameras. Since most of the cameras I love the most need 620 film I was really excited about that find! I will have to check out the Goodwill site. I love finding good deals on cameras!

      Like

  2. I’ve been trying to get my hands on a Rolleiflex for years..if only they were cheaper! Such a great list of some darling cameras.

    Like

  3. Pingback: I Found My Vintage Camera Heaven! | Cutie Cameras

  4. Pingback: Satisfying an item on my vintage camera wish list! | Cutie Cameras

  5. Pingback: Another camera to check off of my vintage camera wish list!! | Cutie Cameras

Leave some love!

