Time Traveling Tuesday: Concert of My Dreams

I was born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska. We were pretty cut off and seeing the bands that I blared from my bedroom live was just a distant dream for me. That is until we went on family vacations. Vacation for me was an opportunity to see a show. As soon as I found out about a trip I was looking for the closest venues and which bands were coming during our stay. My parents were very supportive and even drove me over an hour away to see the concert of my dreams. The Starting Line playing with Cartel. AHH I couldn’t believe that two of my favorite bands, at the time, were playing together! Only an hour away! I begged and begged my parents to take me and my friend Jory (she was traveling with us).

When my folks told me I could buy the tickets I was ecstatic. I wanted to see The Starting Line so bad and I was on the path towards a dream come true! I spent the whole trip just waiting for the concert. When the day arrived I couldn’t contain myself. It was so exciting!!!

Both Cartel and The Starting Line played amazingly that night. Even the opening local band was pretty good. I was at the merch table after the show when I noticed the local band members were hanging around. We chatted with the guitarist and I asked if he had met the other bands. He said they were all very nice then pointed the lead singer, Will Pugh, of Cartel out to me. Internally I screamed, “AHHH!!” Luckily I was able to play it cool and ask if he could introduce us. He said sure and we walked over. It was as simple as that.

There I was, standing next to one cutie from a band about to meet the lead singer of another band I idolized. Pretty crazy how things work out!

Jory and I met Will and shared our love for his music before parting to meet my parents outside.

me with singer of cartel

It was a magical evening! We finished off the night with burgers and fries from In-N-Out Burger and were off back to the hotel. Jory and I fell asleep in the car on the way back and dreamt of our wonderful night out.

I am so appreciative to my parents for these memories. They always supported me when it came to the things I love and now I can look back at those moments with joy and appreciation. Thank you, parents, for driving near and far to make sure I got to see the bands I loved!!

signature

6 thoughts on “Time Traveling Tuesday: Concert of My Dreams

  1. That’s so awesome of your parents! ❤ I can feel your love and appreciation for them as I read this story, hun! Yay! for great parents like yours!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Time Traveling Tuesday: Warped Tour 2005 | Cutie Cameras

Leave some love!

