Time Traveling Tuesday: How I Became a Coffee Addict

Hello Lovelies,

I have a bit of a confession. I love coffee. I drink it on a daily basis. As I write this post I am sitting in a coffee shop enjoying my white chocolate americano with cream. YUM!

Day 340 Jan 6

Now that you know this about me I want to share the story of my first coffee and why I began drinking the stuff.

I was in high school. All of my friends were doing it and I felt left out. They would meet up for coffee and chat about the hardships they were facing being high school students. I know, life was so tough.
It seemed like an elite club.

I remember the exact moment I decided to try coffee and commit to it.
I was out with this guy I was totally crushing on. I tried to hide my hot chocolate order but the barista gave me away when she hollered, “hot chocolate for Hilary. Hot chocolate for Hilary at the bar.”

EEK!! Well my cover was blown. This super cute guy seemed offended. He said to me, “If you don’t like coffee you should have said so.” I was totally messing it up! AHH! High school me felt like my life was over! After that instant I decided that I HAD to find a coffee beverage that would be suitable for future hang outs.

I asked my coffee drinking friends if they had any recommendations. Due to my love for chocolate they all agreed that a mocha would be my drink of choice.

I remember being so hesitant.
What if I didn’t like it? What if they all laughed if I made a disgusted face? No. I am doing it! I will be a coffee drinker! Well, that is what I decided.

I drank the coffee and I loved it. Of course I loved it! It is basically a hot chocolate but with a little kick. From there I tried white mochas, frappacinos, cappuccinos, americanos, and so on. I even worked as a barista for two years. I loved it!!

Coffee is now a huge part of my life. I see it more as a treat. It is my “me” time. I would like to start drinking tea instead of coffee but I am so used to the caffein that I get headaches. I hope to be able to make the switch sometime in the near future.

We will see.

Do you drink coffee? What is your favorite order?

signature

Leave some love!

